An Introduction.

I have spent almost an hour typing, deleting, saving and editing a First Topic to write about, but if you don’t know who is writing then what is the point of reading? That was a rhetorical question, please don’t answer that.

  • My name’s Katie. I suppose that is fairly important, so I should get it out of the way first.
  • I am 21 years old, which is the only age where I’ve felt less old as the year has progressed, rather than the other way around. This summer I will turn 22, which is the age I have been dreading ever since Taylor Swift released that single, but I’ll get onto that later.
  • Currently I live in the beautiful city of York. It is a place steeped in history, being the old capital city of England (back when it was called Eboracum by the Romans) and before that it was known as Jorvik by the Vikings when they invaded from Scandinavia. Whilst there isn’t much left of the Vikings, other than a selection of tourist attractions and an annual festival, the Romans certainly left their mark with countless artefacts, buildings and the unmissable stone walls that circumnavigate the city centre. Walking to work underneath an archway that is several metres thick and has been standing for over 1000 years has become completely ordinary, but the beautiful gothic Minster (it’s like a cathedral, but more…Gothic) takes my breath away every time.
  • My entire family are all involved in computing and mathematics of one sort or another; I’d say I was the black sheep of the family, but the glittery sheep with the sunglasses and red lipstick would be a more accurate description (and try getting that image out of your head).
  • My degree in Writing, Directing and Peformance is what happens when parents tell their children to choose the subjects that they enjoy at school. I was very good in all of my exams – Biology or Mathematics could easily have been on the cards – except I told my Chemistry teacher that I would rather eat my own leg (direct quote) than study science at A-Level. A bit strong, perhaps, but it got the point across. I have a lot to say about this degree – and studying the arts in general, actually – but that’s also for later.
  • I’m using WordPress to keep a record of all my projects and adventures, and I have no doubt that other writings will pop up on here too.

If you’ve read this far then don’t be shy, say hello 🙂

6 thoughts on “An Introduction.

  1. Hi Katie! I’m new to the whole blog thing too. I haven’t written a full introduction yet but yours has inspired me to do so…tomorrow! Congrats on your first steps and good luck in the future!

    Like

Leave a comment